Celebrating 4th Anniversary!

Posted on Updated on

Oh, wow, time sure flies by fast. It’s been four years already since I started this blog! I’m also noticing that I have fewer and fewer posts between my anniversaries, oops. Life has just been really busy for me now that I’m not a student and trying to figure out what I want to do with my life (you know, adult responsibilities and stuff). As always I’d like to thank everyone who has stuck with me and all the new people who have subscribed to this blog (or check back on it regularly) too despite my frustratingly slow posts.

I’d like to talk a bit about the future of this blog too. Don’t worry, it’s nothing bad! I want to reassure everyone that this blog will always be here for as long as WordPress allows it and that I’ll continue to upkeep it too to make sure that all the images are here; and, at this point, I’m still interested in otome games so I’ll still continue to blog away at my slow pace. I’ve asked my readers about my posting style before in previous anniversaries and the overall majority seems to enjoy my super long posts (despite the slow speed) so I’ll continue to do that.

But I am thinking about changing my posting style a bit. My games seem to lean towards being story-centric which feature either episodes or chapters, so I’ve been thinking about posting chapters as I finish them to increase my posting speed and decrease the waiting time for everyone. I’d like to hear what people think about that! Yes? No? Would you rather have really long and big posts when I finish a route or chapter by chapter? Characters will still have their own posts for their routes that will include all their endings though.

At any rate, let’s move onto the fun part now! I will be giving away ONE DRAMA CD TRANSLATION and ONE COPY OF AMNESIA: MEMORIES on Steam! I won’t be doing game translation requests because the last time that happened I had to flail around for two years before completing it, haha.

GIVEAWAY IS CLOSED. The winning number is 7! aki092 (6) and aika chan (8) are our winners!

EDIT: I didn’t think this would happen but, wow, we have some lucky people! I’m willing to give you both prizes so just respond to my comment to let me know what each of you want translated and please enter the email you want me to send the STEAM copy of Amnesia: Memories to when you comment (I’ll be able to see your emails so long as it’s entered into the field and so you can keep it private too like that). Congratulations on our winners and thanks to everyone for participating and leaving your thoughts on how I should handle future posts! Until next anniversary <3!

(If you guys have any suggestions for future giveaways please let me know! I’d love to be able to give back more but it’s kind of hard coming up with things and you guys all just seem to be interested in translations).

RULES

  1. Giveaway will start at 00:00 PDT 18 August 2015 and end at 23:59 PDT 23 August 2015.
  2. Participants can comment with a number from 1-100.
  3. I will close the comments on 23 August and use a random number generator.
  4. Winner is whoever has the closest number to the generator.
  5. I’ll edit the winner into this post so everyone can see.

NOTE: The winner is free to just take one of the prizes as well! For example, if you only want a drama CD translation and not the game then I’ll choose another winner for Amnesia: Memories, and vice versa.

54 thoughts on “Celebrating 4th Anniversary!

    Dexter Universe said:
    August 24, 2015 at 11:19

    Aiya!? i have lost well that doesn’t matter like i was more interest into the Drama CD translation in the first place. So for the translation it’s Shin Bloody Bouquet CD when it’s out of course and Reiji Bloody Bouquet CD please. Again happy 4th anniversary and good continuation on your translation work but mostly never stop what you are doing no matter what.
    Have a nice day!

      Ilinox responded:
      August 24, 2015 at 12:33

      Mhm ;w; the random number generator god has spoken. Maybe next time! But unfortunately that also means that I won’t be doing any drama CD translations since none of the winners want one! When I wrote about passing the reward onto the next person, it was just in the case of no one wanting Amnesia: Memories but it looks like the opposite was true, aha.

      Thank you for your kind words and well-wishes!

    aika chan said:
    August 24, 2015 at 00:32

    oh well i kinda didnt see you replay but yeah im satisfied with only the game you already make me sooooooo happy so lets make someone else happy with the drama cd

      Ilinox responded:
      August 25, 2015 at 11:26

      Haha, okay! I’ve sent the game now so please enjoy it! <3

    aika chan said:
    August 24, 2015 at 00:17

    oh wow i sound like an idiot now this is the third comment please send it to parmida.shanbedi@gmail.com thanks again you made my day

    aika chan said:
    August 24, 2015 at 00:15

    sorry i sound like a debt collector in the previous comment but..oh my god im so happy so yeah thank you a looooooooooooot i really love you if possible can i would liketo have amnesia memories

      Ilinox responded:
      August 24, 2015 at 00:19

      Aha, just a bit, but I can see that you’re really excited. It’s not quite on Steam yet since it releases on 25 August 2015, but I’ll definitely send it over to you the moment it arrives there on Tuesday! I’ll be sending the digital copy of the game to the email you’re using in this comment, okay?

      Also, just to confirm, do you want a drama CD translated as well? You have the option of asking me to translate one for you too but if you’re satisfied with just the game then that’s cool too!

    aika chan said:
    August 24, 2015 at 00:12

    hey i want amnesia

    amittesukku said:
    August 23, 2015 at 23:30

    Hnng, I’m really stressed out now! Happy anniversary! :’) I’ll choose 96!

    Anita said:
    August 23, 2015 at 23:03

    Hope I’m not too late! Number I guess is: 33! Thanks so much for your translations, and congrats on your fourth year!

    maro said:
    August 23, 2015 at 21:44

    oh im late.i guess ill be the last one but whatever i choose 62

    Leafさんの夢が。。。 said:
    August 23, 2015 at 21:16

    Sorry for my double post, but I wouldn’t mind you posting chapter reviews of otoges. Whatever works with your time schedule, I’m all for it! I’m just glad to be able to read whatever you do post since they’re written well and entertaining!

      Ilinox responded:
      August 23, 2015 at 23:27

      Oh no worries about the double post! Haha, it’s less about my schedule and more about what you guys, as the audience, want! I usually post whenever I complete a route but for some games like Beyond the Future or Black Wolves Saga, that means the first post is like 50,000 words and it’d take months to get out.

      But story-centric games like Psychedelica have chapters and little side episodes that give me the option of either translating like 20 of them and posting them all under one post, or doing small regular updates like I’ve been doing so everyone can read the content earlier! That’s what I was wondering |D;; but it looks like the majority are fine with whatever so long as I’m happy (which is seriously so nice, thank you!).

        Leafさんの夢が。。。 said:
        August 23, 2015 at 23:39

        Awesome!!! And I really need to get Psychedlica. You sound liek you’re having a blast with it! Do you have other fav otoges?

        Ilinox responded:
        August 24, 2015 at 00:57

        Mhm, Psychedelica has gotten really good reviews everywhere and is being held up alongside Clock Zero (I hear Reine des Fleurs is climbing up there too, haha). It’s certainly an interesting journey right now… especially because I feel a little traumatized from the first ending I got.

        You can find my favorite otome games on my sidebar under “Supporting”! But I’ll go into a bit more detail here since I love talking about them, oops:

        Shinigami to Shoujo is absolutely AMAZING. That’s all. Just kidding, haha, but I would seriously recommend it to EVERYONE (even men) because it has fantastic themes with little romance. It’s very story-centric but UGH IT’S SO GOOD. I SWEAR.

        Black Wolves Saga: Bloody Nightmare is a “your mileage may vary” kind of game but I love its setting, the characters, and the story. It’s pretty dark and so I wouldn’t call this one romantic either, haha, and more story-centric. I’d say the best thing about this game are the characters. (I adore analyzing Mejojo and Arles and their dynamic).

        Hana Awase has given me a writing goal because the way the writer spins her stories are just… wow. WOW. It’s so tight and each game creates and answers questions that lead into the next game. The entire series is a tetralogy (A GAME HAS BEEN CONFIRMED FOR MY DARLING IROHA) with great symbolism. I’m a sucker for reincarnation themes though so if you don’t like that then this might not be for you. Also, this game has the honor of being the first otome game to make me cry so hard that I had to stop playing.

        I can tell that I’ll probably end up supporting CZ, Reine des Fleurs, Ken ga Kimi, and Psychedelica but I need to complete these games first before I can officially call them my favorites, haha.

    Leafさんの夢が。。。 said:
    August 23, 2015 at 21:13

    WOW congratulations and thank you!!!

    I’ll go with 60 :D

    maria said:
    August 23, 2015 at 08:45

    i’d like to pick 35

    sakura said:
    August 22, 2015 at 11:54

    ill choose 70

    snow said:
    August 22, 2015 at 11:02

    i also want to thank you for all of these amazing translation, that really helping me to understand the plot and characters. i’m sorry for double posting

    snow said:
    August 22, 2015 at 10:45

    congratulation for the anniversary!! i will go with 12

    Rii said:
    August 21, 2015 at 14:37

    Happy anniversary!! I’ll go with 61!

Leave a Reply

