Feedback Wanted!

Posted on Updated on

I intended to post this when I completed Psychedelica but I was too impatient (which seems to happen a lot, oops). First, I’d like to apologize for my sporadic updates though ;;; I was stuck in Japanese light novel hell and lately I’ve been stressed and distressed with job hunting. But enough about me and my excuses, I wanted to connect with my readers and ask a few questions about the kind of things you’d be interested in seeing on this blog, etc.

Exactly like what the post title says, I’d like some feedback! So, onto some questions:

  1. Posts on localized games? Norn9, Code:Realize, Hakuouki, and OZMAFIA have come out (or are coming out) and so I don’t see the need to translate/summarize them like I do for other games; however, is anyone interested in seeing an “impressions” or “review” post on localized games? Or should I just quietly play it?
  2. Light novel translation? I mentioned above I was trapped in LN hell and, as a result, I read this REALLY GOOD BOOK that I’d love to translate. Once again though, is that something people would be interested in? I’ll most likely put more time into playing otome games though and just occasionally do chapter translations.
  3. Commissions? When I started this blog it was just a hobby and I wasn’t confident enough in my Japanese to feel like I could provide a service for people, but I’ve improved a lot since then and if people are interested then I wouldn’t mind taking drama CD translation commissions (I’d be open to other translation commission requests too!).

That’s pretty much all the important questions I wanted to ask. But if you have any concerns, questions, or feedback you want to leave then please comment below!

By the way I’ve been thinking about making the first post on a game to be a translation/summary of everything up to the first choice. Would that be annoying or would it be a nice way to get a sense of the game and be teased?

One last thing! I can’t decide on what I should play after Psychedelica, so please help me out by voting! I should be done Psychedelica within the next few weeks or so (there’s only 3 more posts left). I wish I could have put some Beast Master and Prince posts up while the kickstarter was happening but it’s still a cute game that I’d like to share with people (especially if the kickstarter doesn’t go through ;;;;).

POLL IS CLOSED. THANK YOU!

14 thoughts on “Feedback Wanted!

    Yume said:
    March 10, 2016 at 02:33

    For questions 1, 2, 3 and on posting styles: do what you’re comfortable with! I’m sure people won’t mind reading any impressions you have to offer. ^^ sometimes it’s nice to read what people generally think and what they look out.

    Personally I don’t read LN or ask for commissions so…my feedback probably won’t be helpful lol.

    I think posting up to the first choice does sound like a nice idea – kinda like a preview of the game in a way. Though I guess it could also depend on the game structure ie if it is already divided into prologue and chapters – maybe just stick to it. Again, I think it’s okay to go with what you are comfortable with. You don’t always have to stick to one format (:

    And (obviously) I voted for you to play Clock Zero :D though I wouldn’t mind Moujuutsukai either. With a new game coming up for it, it might be nice to get people in the mofumofu mood ♡

      Ilinox responded:
      March 10, 2016 at 22:20

      ;w; thank you Yume!! Yeah, my thoughts tend to get buried when I just do translation-type things that I’ve been doing lately so it might be a nice change of paste to be able to focus more on details and character themes when writing up review posts on localized games!

      Haha, it’s never too early to try reading LNs! Maybe I can drag you into one (・`◡´・).

      Ah, good point about not having to stick to one format! I think I was trying too hard to stick with one format so Psychedelica actually made me stressed at first as I tried to figure out how to tackle it, haha, but if I just decide based on the game then that’s much nicer.

      Poor CZ is behind in the races but there’s still a couple more days! It might be able to pull off a dark horse!! (I threw BMP and Amnesia in there precisely because they’re fluffy cute games amongst the darker stories that I’ve been tackling lately, haha).

    Allison said:
    March 9, 2016 at 16:11

    It just occurred to me that I totally forgot to leave feedback before, so…!

    1) I’m always, always, always interested in seeing peoples’ impressions of things, regardless of how long they are.
    2) Mixed feelings because I THINK in the past people have gotten in trouble for this. (I could be remembering wrong; maybe they took it down on their own?) If it were short summaries/review posts I would be up for it though.
    3) I don’t need any commissions personally (unless it were something like “extra scenes from this port”) but I think it’s worth a shot at least? People ask for translations fairly often; it’s just a matter of, “How many of you are actually willing to pay this price?” and making sure you have the time/energy to devote to it.
    4) However you want to format it is fine! I think how well it would work just kind of depends on the game’s setup.

      Ilinox responded:
      March 10, 2016 at 22:03

      1) Ooh, okay! If I do decide to do impressions posts on localized games then I think I’ll make more of an effort to discuss the route and themes, rather than the translation-style that I do for Japanese ones.

      2) I can see where it might get into trouble, especially if you try to monetize it. The LN translation hub that I’ve seen (Moon Bunny Cafe) hasn’t seemed to run into any troubles yet.

      3) Good point! I mean, so long as I’m willing to spend the time/energy then it can’t hurt to have a page to give people the option, right?

      4) I can see it working out very well for games like Psychedelica (story-centric) and Reine des Fleurs (the loooong common route chapters) but not so much for games that throw you a choice the first 10 minutes in and that decides the route as well, haha.

      Thank you for the feedback, Allison!!

    HoneyToots said:
    March 8, 2016 at 05:46

    I voted for Reine des fleurs mainly because I wish to know of your impression of Louis/his route. He’s my bias and I always like seeing people’s impressions on my fav characters XD It’s been how many months and I still can’t get over him. It /might/ have to do with his gorgeous design. Helps that I like his type of character. Though, I secretly wish for you to play Hana awase because I feel like you’ll enjoy playing that more. Also you won’t have to go through the 40+ (there’s so much bad ends I forgot the number) bad ends…. /yet/. But, while you’ll be enjoying HA you’ll be in pain too so I guess it depends on what type of pain you want to go through. Emotional suffering where you lay down and cry or endless bad ends.

    I actually would be interested in LN translations! I heard though that translating light novels is hard work, so ‘I-totally-would-read-your-translations-if-you’re-comfortable-with-translating-and-doing-so-much-work’.

    As for commissions I am interested in it! I’ve started learning Japanese a month or two ago and going in a slow pace so my comprehension is pretty shabby. I probably will request for 1 or 2 drama cd translations. Just wondering are you planning on including costs for it?

      Ilinox responded:
      March 9, 2016 at 15:08

      LOL I really want to experience this Louis thing too! One day I’ll also tackle Alvaro from Wand of Fortune, because I hear he and Lulu have a similar antagonistic/snarky relationship and those are so fun. I love all the character designs in Reine des Fleurs but I’ll admit I have a secret weakness for blonds with green or blue eyes.

      Ehe, I made up this poll precisely because I wasn’t sure what I wanted to play next |D it is very motivating and touching to see that there’s so many HA fans though (at least at the present moment).

      The LN translation will definitely be a big project (it’s 4 books too) but I think it’ll really improve my Japanese since I’ll have to be so careful with tenses and, well, the entire thing, haha. I’m glad that there’s some interest in it too because I adore this book and would love to share it with everyone!

      I wanted to gauge interest in commissions first before I go off to do research on the prices that everyone else seems to be using, but it looks like it’s roughly $10/hour that the translators spends translating. I haven’t timed myself for previous translations but I think it would take me an hour to do 10 min of a drama CD, so long as it was straightforward content. Anything with a lot of historical references like Wasurenagusa would take me longer ;;;.

    Reare Noella said:
    March 8, 2016 at 01:18

    See! I told you, you finish a job way tooo fast lol! I’m sure your job hunting will be smooth soon, don’t worry ;D! Yeah, go ahead have a blast with localized game like Hakuouki and Code:Realize! Those are quite a hit aren’t they?

    As for your light novel translation, well it’s your choice so do it! I’m pretty sure a lot of people will either start reading/follow the series or they will just enjoy the translation here anyways.

    I totally vote 100% at Beast Master! Those were my early favourite game but the kickstarter seem quite messy from the start… Lets just hope many people realized that the game itself is a work of art :D

    Good luck!

      Ilinox responded:
      March 9, 2016 at 14:47

      Aw, thank you! I’m glad to see that there’s a bit of an interest in an “impressions” post! My thoughts were that the localized versions of those games makes it very accessible to people so I don’t need to talk about it, but there could be people out there who might want to know more about the story before deciding on a purchase!

      The LN I want to translate is certainly up there in terms of “one of my favorite stories” so it’d be nice to be able to share that <3.

      Thank you for your vote and feedback!

    Yukiru said:
    March 7, 2016 at 22:28

    I voted for CZ! ٩(ˊᗜˋ*)و ←義務感w
    But honestly I wouldn’t mind HA or Reine because I’d like to see you play those too. Specifically Ghislain and Louis for Reine (lol my biases–they were a fun ride for me). As for HA we all have to catch up some time! As for the last two games they might get translated since they both got iOS versions lately→You could do an impression post for them instead?

    1. I like reading impressions! Of anything you like–not limited to localized games. I actually really like it when my friends recommend something without spoiling the whole thing (but I don’t mind some spoilers–they tend to grab my attention)

    2. やるなら手伝うよ!86 chapters is a lot of work!?! 書籍版なら無理ですが!どうやってタイピングしながら本を開けるの、私にはさっぱり!

    3. 君次第。時間がかかるもんね。

      Ilinox responded:
      March 8, 2016 at 01:37

      さすがゆきるちゃん、えへへ (*´∀`*)。

      Oh, good point about them getting iOS versions! I didn’t realize they ported over the FDs of Amnesia too! Has there been a translated version of Amnesia Later? (Sadly, it looks like Beast Master and Prince might not make the kickstarter but maybe after being ported to iOS it’ll be cheaper to be translated).

      1. My blog has become such a terrible place for impressions :’D since it’s just full of spoilers and the entire route, oops.

      2. おお!君が助けてくれるならぜひともお願いします!WEB版がもういるだから書籍版を訳したいと思った。 I think I’d just have to painstakingly re-type out the print onto like a google doc or something and then translate it from there (so then helpers could double-check and reference the original lines). It’ll be painful but I also don’t want to step on the toes of the person who’s already doing the web version |D.

      3. ゆきるちゃんなら興味ないですねwww日本語が上手いから。

        Yukiru said:
        March 8, 2016 at 11:20

        I don’t think Amnesia Later has been translated yet! I’m not even sure if Later got an iOS port (Crowd’s iOS port is pretty recent!) I just looked at kickstarted and… it’s pretty far away from the goal ^^; (even though to me it looks like they got a lot?)

        1. そんな!ネタバレ含む感想のブログとしては素晴らしいですよ。

        2. AH. そうよね。Retyping sounds really painful lmao! Getting a cheap used copy off Amazon/book-off then sacrificing it to an automatic scanner might be easier. おおー。とにかく、書籍版を読みながら心の準備をしていきますw

        3. そんなに上手くないよーw w イリちゃんがやるのなら応援しまーす!

    Roa said:
    March 7, 2016 at 22:20

    I’ve commented before on your mizuchi-hen posts (you are an amazing person for what you do, thank you a million times over), but can’t remember the name I went by. I always change the name depending on my mood, but I should probably stop doing that lmao

    Anyways, I’ve been trying my very best to avoid reading your psychedelica posts until my game comes in the mail. Once I get it (shipping to canada takes forever though ughh), I’ll go through all your posts and fall in love with the game. I think it will really strike up my alley :D

    I personally voted for Hana Awase Hime-Hen hands down, cause for obvious reasons, I love that series so much. Mizuchi-hen was such a delight, so I really really look forward to having the chance of playing the Hime-hen and Kurenai/Utsutsu’s games (and eventually Iroha-hen!!). This series is too good man

    As for Reine Des Fleurs, the art’s so pretty! But I heard the plot wasn’t able to sustain itself and I’ve read almost a vast majority of disappointing reviews. I treasure plot/writing above all else in otome games, so even though the pretty art’s tempting… sigh – there was so much potential though! D: In case others didn’t know though, it is being translated on youtube! They’ve done quite a good bit so far, with more coming out steadily. One should be able to find it with a quick youtube search ^_^

    Clock Zero is a great one from what I’ve heard! I’m glad Otomate decided to release a PS Vita version with all the extra goodies! It’s been on my backlog for quite a long time, and I’ve always wanted to play it. As for Beastmaster, the kickstarter isn’t looking too good, which is depressing. I was really hoping for it to get funded, the game looks so cute!

    Oops ^^; Just realized this comment is WAY too long, and I should probably shut up now. As for your 3 questions, I think you should go with what you like. Even though I’m primarily an otome fan interested in Japanese games I can’t otherwise understand – ultimately, I think you should go with what you want. It’s your blog and do what makes you happy :3 I (creepily lol) follow you on twitter, so I like seeing your brief thoughts on things you read/play whenever I get the chance to go through it during my commute. I’m perfectly happy with that and the way things are now. I’m personally fine either way ^_^

    If I’ve said anything stupid/mean, I apologize and please take it with a grain of salt as I’m supposed to be asleep right now. All right, I’ll finally shut up now haha

      Ilinox responded:
      March 8, 2016 at 02:24

      Oh gosh, no need to thank me so much ⁄(⁄ ⁄•⁄ω⁄•⁄ ⁄)⁄!! I don’t recall seeing this version of your username but then again it’s also been four years since my Mizuchi-hen posts (which is pretty crazy when you think about it ;;; has it really been that long!?).

      AH PLEASE DON’T READ THE PSYCHEDELICA POSTS! The way the reveals are done in this game play a large part in the enjoyment of it so please hold on for the shipping, haha!

      I’m honestly surprised that there have been so many votes for Hana Awase because it never seemed mainstream, but I’m happy that there’s such an interest in it! I will guiltily confess to accidentally putting Hime-hen off and now it’s gotten sucked into the black hole of my backlog, so seeing this much interest acts as a great motivator for me to get back to it.

      Haha, yeah, I’ve heard sub-standard things in regards to Reine des Fleurs but that it’s still enjoyable so long as you don’t have any expectations (also, I’m just a complete sucker for Louis and that antagonistic + snarky relationship he has with Violette). Oh! I didn’t know that it was being translated at all. For those curious, it’s being done by Dirili at her YouTube channel.

      I don’t think I’ve ever seen CZ rated badly; it’s either been fantastic or just not to someone’s taste. But yeah, I’ve always wanted to play it too… I just… haven’t gotten around to it for some reason. Shiny new games are too shiny.

      I should have done an introductory post for BMP when the kickstarter came up :c maybe it could have done something to encourage others to back it. Or link people to Rin’s posts from love-colored sky about BMP.

      I see, thank you for the feedback! I mainly wanted to gauge people’s interests for impression posts, so if no one wants that and just wants me to continue translating Japanese-only otome games then it’s not a big deal! Honestly, it’ll be faster and easier on me to play through localized versions without having to worry about writing things (though blogging is nice because it helps me remember details about games I’ve played in the past).

      Oh gosh ;w; I’m honored that you check out my tweets, especially when I’m less than eloquent there compared to my blog posts! Please feel free to poke me on twitter if you ever want to chat though <3 you're too sweet to be a creepy follower!

        Roa said:
        March 8, 2016 at 12:30

        Woah it’s really been that long!? Time sure flies by :O

        Yup, I’ve been putting all my effort in to resist opening your psychedelica posts. I must admit, the temptation was real though haha

        Despite having a twitter account, I don’t really tweet on it actually. I’m mainly active on tumblr (aseriaa), but even there, I stopped being as active. I still sporadically go on, but as we all know, life likes to get in the way when we just wanna sit back and play some games XD Why must university be so busy… whyyy

        Yeah I’m really glad that Hana Awase is getting a lot of votes, not many people I know on tumblr have played it (which is a real shame). It deserves all the love and more! Now that otome games are slowly becoming more well known, so many games are being released every year. It’s way too hard to catch up, so I try to be more selective in what I choose to get and play. But exactly like you said, shiny new games ARE shiny LOL

        As for Reine Des Fleurs, Louis was the initial (and still is) character I’ve been interested in. He gives me these shady vibes, and sorta reminds me of Himeutsugi from Hana Awase for some reason (who is a HUGE bias for me – love is pain haha). Hmm maybe it’s because of the look in Louis’ eyes. I haven’t watched how he’s interacted with Violette yet, so my perception of him may change.

        Like the general consensus, I wish the BMP Kickstarter was organized better from the start. And things like assurance of voices and tiers were set before it kicked off. The pledges were coming in super quickly, then it just plateaued after the first 4 days for the remaining time period :( I was most interested in the Duck character (Lucia) cause I tend to be a sucker for tsunderes. Plus he seems absolutely adorable (and hilarious) from the snippets I’ve seen online.

        Yeah I’m a strong believer in placing your happiness first. Do whatever your heart desires :) Nahh your tweets are a lot of fun to read! And aww YOU’re the sweet one <3

Leave a Reply

