Light Beyond 2 ~ Afterword ~

Posted on Updated on

Woo! We’ve reached the end of another volume and here are some words from the author.

Here we go:

“Hello, long time no see. Or, perhaps, it’s nice to meet you for the first time.

I am very happy for this book to be in your hands like this!

There has been quite some time since the first volume came out, and I cannot raise my head to the people who have been waiting for the second volume without forgetting or abandoning it.

At the time the first volume was completed, I felt a sense of accomplishment (arbitrarily) along the lines of “I can die whenever now”, so when the next publication was decided there was no pleasure. I remember feeling tense about having to work harder and give even more than the first volume. And so, to not become “lax” because it’s the second volume, I pulled myself up again and strove to give all of my best to the point of death.

With that, I took up the brush with the mental state that though this was called the second volume, it was still one volume, and continued “Light Beyond”. The general flow of the story hasn’t changed from the net version but episodes have been changed and added, and actually there are more revisions from the net version this time than there were in the first volume.

In the first volume, I put in efforts to write original episodes that weren’t in the net version, but this time I wrote with emphasis on the changing feelings of Yuna, the heroine. I have good memories of getting together with the director and thinking carefully and carefully and carefully and carefully (the rest has been omitted) about what kind of feelings Yuna is acting on. If I was asked “What would easily express Yuna’s image?”, the answer would have been “A good girl” up to now, but now I feel like I would say “A good girl but actually–” and trail off.

The other characters also took different actions compared to the net version. Some characters have more appearance scenes, and other characters have less scenes…… but it’s my intention to pour my love equally into all the characters. “He’s a really sad person,” is what the director said about Aeneas though, so I might have poured too much distorted love into him (lol).

Lastly, to Mr. Y who worked hard on the publication of the second volume and thought about this work with more passion than even I, the author, thank you very much. To Mr. Kishida Mel who drew these lovely illustrations that I couldn’t look away from after seeing it once, thank you very much. To all the people who were involved in the publication of the second volume of who I was unaware of in my carefreeness, thank you very much. And then, to you who picked up this small book, thank you so very much!

Well then, it will be a pleasure if we can meet next time in the third volume of “Light Beyond”.

2009 July.”

5 thoughts on “Light Beyond 2 ~ Afterword ~

    kukkiriri said:
    July 9, 2017 at 20:38

    I really like it that she wrote about all of the work that went into rewriting and editing for the published version. It’s one of the things that I really regret about the current state of web novels getting picked up by various publishers here and there to print. Few of them ever get a dedicated editing team that is interested in sitting down with the author and working with them on an already existing story to make it a better version than what it already is. Web novels are very often first drafts. Or maybe second drafts, but the stories aren’t polished to their full potential. So what we have are a bunch of publishers who just publish the web contents as is. *cry* Oh, well. >_> Thanks for translating this. :D

      Ilinox responded:
      July 10, 2017 at 10:23

      Same! It’s also a great look into how much work goes into publishing a novel (at least one of better quality than the ones that are just picked up). I bet the industry of WNs is in the state of mind that if it got so popular on the web, no one really wants to see any changes (especially if it’ll increase the chances they’ll screw up and ruin whatever made it popular… but that just reeks of editors not being able to do their job properly if they can’t even pinpoint what makes the WN good and build off of that).

      You’re welcome <3! Thank you for following along my plodding updates |D!

        kukkiriri said:
        July 10, 2017 at 22:37

        Ilinox, you crazy woman. Do you realize how fast you’re blitzing through this series? You do entire chapters at a time! How is that plodding, geez! And sorry, the truth is that I still haven’t picked up the story from where I left off yet. >D I should probably do it soon, and spam you with you comments. It’s the least I can do for your awesomeness.

        Eh, and well, the WN publishing industry… The publishers probably think it’s an unnecessary cost. Just contract an artist to slap on a cover and draw some art, and consider it a done job. *cry* >_> I mean, whatever… I guess most people are satisfied. I just wish it was less about capitalizing off a new trend and more about focusing on the works that get put out there. If I was a hopeful writer, I know I’d like to take what I have and improve on it. Oh, well. ;P

    1_chan said:
    July 9, 2017 at 09:36

    Aw the author is so sweet~ Cheers to the end of the second volume as we welcome a third xD

      Ilinox responded:
      July 10, 2017 at 10:18

      She has a great sense of humor |D though peppered with the self-deprecation that most authors seem to have, aha. But yes, onto the third volume now!! We’re past the halfway mark!

Leave a Reply

